Special papal blessing by JPII, Divine Mercy for end of abortion

Over the past weeks I’ve spoken or written to lots of Catholics about the special papal blessing that Pope John Paul II signed for all the faithful who would recite the Chaplet of the Divine Mercy for the end of abortion and the culture of death. So far no one I’ve talked to knew about this special blessing beforehand and no one knew of the special intentions that the Pope suggested. After I emailed a copy of Fr. Frank Pavone’s column (linked above) to a fellow prayer vigil attendee, she pointed out to me that there happen to be five intentions, so we’ve been praying the Chaplet together and mentioning an intention for each decade as we pray. (Yeah, I know, it seemed so obvious after she pointed it out, but, to be honest, I didn’t notice it until she told me.)

Below I’ve listed the Pope’s intentions in list form for ease of use during the recitation of this beautiful devotion, the Chaplet of the Divine Mercy, for the end of abortion and the culture of death.

  1. for mothers, that they not abort their offspring;
  2. for infants in danger of being put to death in the womb;
  3. for a change of heart of providers of abortions and of their collaborators;
  4. for human victims of stem cell research, genetic manipulation, cloning and euthanasia;
  5. and for all entrusted with the government of peoples, that they may promote the Culture of Life, so as to put an end to the culture of death.

Read more in Fr. Frank Pavone’s column on the Priests for Life website.

About Disciple

I am a pro-life activist, blogger, writer, poet, singer songwriter, musician, photographer, nerd, bookworm and Mac fan. I have two dogs, one of whom is well-travelled. (I had three for a while after adopting a senior dog, but he has now passed away, and the pack is back to two girl dogs. One was born after, the days of mammoth road trips.) And the most important thing is: I was received into Holy Mother Church in 1996 and, through the grace of God, I love Christ and His Church more with every passing day. Thanks be to God!
This entry was posted in Divine Mercy, Pro-life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Special papal blessing by JPII, Divine Mercy for end of abortion

  1. LuceMichael says:

    Disciple,
    The Priests for Life website is down. While I don’t actually know this, I’m thinking it is a service attack from a pro-abort group or individual.

    They only want freedom of speech for people who agree with them.

    • Disciple says:

      Either that or they’re doing maintenance. Of course, one would think that they’d put a page up saying they were doing maintenance… Hmmm… An attack. Maybe my Divine Mercy post was so wildly popular that millions of Catholics suddenly swamped the servers at the site and shut it down! :O Naaaaah. It’s definitely more likely (not to mention, more rational) to think that the Enemy is attacking our beloved Priests who represent Him Who is the Way, the Truth and the Life. Thanks for letting me know. Let’s pray for our priests!!

    • Disciple says:

      The site is back up. I’m glad. Fr. Pavone is going to be here in a few days to receive new members into the Missionaries of the Gospel of Life Lay Associates. I may be able to attend and may get to meet him. If that happens, you can be sure that I will write a post about it here. :)

  2. Pingback: Divine Mercy in my mailbox « Catholic Heart and Mind

  3. Pingback: Divine Mercy and abortion, prayer cards with special papal blessing « Catholic Heart and Mind

Leave a Reply

