I’ve been called a lot of things in my time

It’s true, I’ve been called a lot of things over the years. But this is the first time anyone has ever called me a racist. Yeah! I know! Me! A racist! Good grief! No one who knows me, no matter how superficially or casually, would ever imagine such a thing in their wildest and most hallucinogenic dreams. But that didn’t stop someone from calling me one anyway on a Catholic forum a few days ago. I was shocked. And dismayed.

Not that I take the rantings of a stranger too seriously, mind you. But I was filled with a certain sadness that anyone would take my criticism of our President’s policies as a sign of racism on my part. Oy ve! The color of the man’s skin means nothing to me. It’s just not an issue. I’m glad we’ve come so far in this country that someone of any race can run for office and be elected. High time, I say. I would like it even more if he shared some of my ideas. He doesn’t seem to. But that has nothing to do with his color. And I pray for the man every day. I pray that he will lead our nation in such a way that every person living here will be able to live in freedom and with dignity. I pray that God will lead him and bless him and us through him.

Does that make me a racist? On the contrary, I think it makes me a concerned American citizen, exercising my right and my obligation to think critically about the issues facing our nation and to work for the common good of us all. Speaking out wherever I go and on public forums and on this blog are just some of the ways I fulfill that obligation. And I plan to continue to do so every chance I get, at the risk of being misunderstood, misquoted, misrepresented and mislabeled. I would be remiss in my mission if I did any less. And that is just not an option for this Catholic Christian. Not an option at all.

About Disciple

I am a pro-life activist, blogger, writer, poet, singer songwriter, musician, photographer, nerd, bookworm and Mac fan. I have two dogs, one of whom is well-travelled. (I had three for a while after adopting a senior dog, but he has now passed away, and the pack is back to two girl dogs. One was born after, the days of mammoth road trips.) And the most important thing is: I was received into Holy Mother Church in 1996 and, through the grace of God, I love Christ and His Church more with every passing day. Thanks be to God!
This entry was posted in Freedom, Pro-life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

