What’s speed got to do with it?

Respecting life involves more than praying the Rosary-for-Life or working for an end to abortion, though those are important aspects of it. Respecting life also means driving the speed limit, not driving too close to the fellow in front of you, not speeding down neighborhood streets ignoring the living beings all around whose lives are endangered by such reckless behavior.

Really, anyone who claims to be pro-life and then gets behind the wheel of an automobile and habitually drives 10 to 20 miles over the speed limit on the way to his prayer group or to Mass is deceiving himself. The way we live either gives proof to our words or makes us liars. Have I always lived by those words? Nope. Am I trying to live by them now? Yes. Though I’ve fallen many times, by the grace of God, I’ve gotten up and tried again.

So next time you’re zipping down the highway, riding an inch from my bumper, seething behind the wheel, waiting for a chance to roar past me while giving me an ugly stare, just remember: I’m driving the speed limit because I’ve taken a vow to respect, protect and defend life.

Including yours.

About Disciple

I am a pro-life activist, blogger, writer, poet, singer songwriter, musician, photographer, nerd, bookworm and Mac fan. I have two dogs, one of whom is well-travelled. (I had three for a while after adopting a senior dog, but he has now passed away, and the pack is back to two girl dogs. One was born after, the days of mammoth road trips.) And the most important thing is: I was received into Holy Mother Church in 1996 and, through the grace of God, I love Christ and His Church more with every passing day. Thanks be to God!
This entry was posted in Catholic Worldview, Morality, Pro-life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s speed got to do with it?

  1. Francesca says:

    Y’know… good point! (And I say this as someone who always drives fast, though thankfully I’ve never hit a living creature .)

    • Disciple says:

      Hi, Francesca! I was a speeder for most of my driving years. And I have hit living creatures: a little bird (I wasn’t even speeding that time!) and a cat. I saw him running down the embankment beside the freeway. I tried everything to miss him but he changed his trajectory every time I changed mine. I cried a long time after that too.

      Now I drive the speed limit and I approach it as a point of discipline, along with general courtesy of the road, which used to be common and now seems to be like waving a red flag in front of bulls. Bullies, that is.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Peace be with you.
      Disciple

Leave a Reply

