Demonizing your political opponents, way to go, DHS

I just downloaded the nine page DHS report causing such an uproar right now. Get a copy of the report from this page at Fox News. I’m still reading it, but I have to share a quote with you right now, this footnote on the second page:

Rightwing extremism in the United States can be broadly divided into those groups, movements, and adherents that are primarily hate-oriented (based on hatred of particular religious, racial or ethnic groups), and those that are mainly antigovernment, rejecting federal authority in favor of state or local authority, or rejecting government authority entirely. It may include groups and individuals that are dedicated to a single issue, such as opposition to abortion or immigration. (From the DHS Right-Wing Extremism Report.) [Emphasis mine.]

I am strenuously opposed to abortion. I am not, however, a person who is primarily hate-oriented, nor am I a affiliated with any hate-oriented groups. I also do not reject government authority at any level. (I may question authority, but I respect legitimate authority. I count on it. I do reject tyranny, but we can leave that for another post.) I’ve never heard anything so ridiculous or insulting. Is this report implying that because I am opposed to abortion, that I am or that my “group”, the Church, is supposedly dedicated to a single issue? Does this make me a radical? Because I am a Catholic Christian, faithful to the teachings of Christ? Because I object to the shedding of innocent blood? Lord, have mercy, everyday I feel more and more like I’m living in a Kurt Vonnegut scifi novel. Can all this really be happening?

Oh, yeah, I’m such a radical. I don’t even wish any harm to come to these ninnies. What I do pray for is the conversion of all our politicians, all our office-holders, all our legislators, all our judges. Divine Mercy Sunday is coming right up. Please pray for our country and our world. Please pray that Christ will pour out His forgiveness, love and mercy upon our land and our people. All our people.
____________

You can read about it here and download the report from that page at Fox News to read for yourself. And I suggest that you do. We should all become much more aware than we have been in the past of what is going on in our government. Politics didn’t interest me at all when I was younger; but as I watch more and more of our rights and freedoms disappear under a tidal wave of rhetoric and legislation purporting to protect those very rights and freedoms.

About Disciple

I am a pro-life activist, blogger, writer, poet, singer songwriter, musician, photographer, nerd, bookworm and Mac fan. I have two dogs, one of whom is well-travelled. (I had three for a while after adopting a senior dog, but he has now passed away, and the pack is back to two girl dogs. One was born after, the days of mammoth road trips.) And the most important thing is: I was received into Holy Mother Church in 1996 and, through the grace of God, I love Christ and His Church more with every passing day. Thanks be to God!
This entry was posted in Freedom, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

